Currently, the City Council consists of five Councilmembers who are elected at-large. This means any eligible voter who lives in the City can run for office, and every voter may vote for all five of the City Councilmember seats, regardless of where they live in the City. Once elected, the five City Councilmembers pick one Councilmember to serve as Mayor for one year, after which the City Council picks a different Councilmember to serve as Mayor for another one-year term. Councilmembers serve four-year terms of office.